Oct 07, 2011

by English Muse

Just announced: Three women, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf — Africa’s first elected female president — and her compatriots, peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman of Yemen, a pro-democracy campaigner, have won the Nobel Peace Prize! These extraordinary women have all helped spread the message of non-violence throughout the world.

Most of the recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize over its 110-year history have been men, which makes today’s announcement even more significant.

From the citation read to reporters in Oslo: “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

A very good day indeed.

Photo by: {life through the lens}


This entry was posted on Friday, October 7th, 2011 at 1:01 pm. It is filed under Decor. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

· · · ◊ ◊ ◊ · · ·

10 Responses to “Three women activists win Nobel Peace Prize”

  1. Richard says:

    A very good day indeed! 🙂 <3

  2. Hannah says:

    very inspiring



  3. Diana says:

    It’s about time! So thrilled to see that the work of these amazing women is being recognized by the world. Girl power!

  4. This gives hope for peace. We shall continue to hope for more peaceful leaders.

    Helen xx

  5. The citation read to reporters in Oslo is absolutely true. I just hope that the right people take notice…………….
    Enjoy your weekend.

  6. Katie says:

    Incredible! The reporter from Oslo is entirely accurate. I’ve even read some interesting data demonstrating a clear correlation between the way a community treats women and its peace and stability. It’s very encouraging to see that one of the highest honors in the world has gone to women this year!

  7. Ceri says:

    Wonderful to hear this and so inspiring. 🙂

  8. Pin says:

    I heard Leymah Gbowee speak, and she was so inspiring! I’m reading her book now.

    The citation is so spot on– congrats to all three women!

All content © 2017 by English Muse